Copenhagen • Progressively Elegant

For me, Copenhagen was at the top of my bucket list. It was established as the happiest city in the world, from long ago. The famous Nyhavn street has always come up in tumblr search engines and the many bike-littered streets made me so excited to bike along it’s cobbled streets. The Danish pride themselves on being a bike-friendly city with a vast amount of parking spaces and bike lanes, with over half the population biking to work everyday.

7A9BB8CB-B26C-4588-A10A-9CD36285B7A7

The famous Nyhanv Street!

On the afternoon that I arrived, I went around trying to see as many landmarks as I could. I was blessed as it was a blue-sky, warm-air type of afternoon. I also ventured out to the Food Market (it was delicious!).

FullSizeRender.jpg

Hans Christian Andersen’s ‘Little Mermaid’ was spotted!

When my friends joined the next day, we had to see the Carlsberg brewery of course. It was pretty awesome as we were put in a group of travellers from all around the world: Americans, Europeans, Canadians, and more. We learned about the process of beer-making, the correct way to drink the sweetness belly-up, and how to skål!

They look pretty similar to me… @Sunny Sun

AEBC111B-5A34-4424-B7D6-8C23FBD9E391.JPG

We got to see beautiful crowns! At the Rosenborg Castle.

0474BC35-3538-4673-AAD0-BC2271CADF76.JPG
Copenhagen, Denmark. How you stole my heart away – even after I thought I was already smitten with Barcelona. Copenhagen has a much different feel than Barcelona. It is quaint. The streets clean and frequented by many of it’s inhabitants – on bikes or by foot. I especially liked the many canals that streaked up and down throughout it’s 94 transit zones.

I would recommend looking at the Copenhagen card, as it gives you free transit and access into multiple museums. If you’re a big traveller like us, it’s a deal!

C886CC4C-73CF-4412-8CB9-D0E6BF7AC89C.JPG
We always hit up the best place to get a panoramic view of the city. Copenhagen’s Round Tower gave us that. It didn’t come without effort. We realized to get views in any European city, this required you to climb to the very top – without elevators.

We like to goof around. These are my favourite 3, as they switch genders by switching jackets.

All in all, I’ve noticed Copenhagen has a different feel than the other European countries. Even to date, it remains a clean and favourite city in my book of travels. The food was great – canal ride was amongst the best as we learned of the different histories of Copenhagen as it went through the different centuries. There is a mix of modern and historic architecture, as the city is one of the leading forefronts of sustainable living.

Copenhagen, Denmark • March 2-5, 2017

Leave a Reply

